Band Profile: Smallpools


If you’re looking for some fun summer jams, and you don’t already have some Smallpools songs on your beach or road trip playlist, you are missing out.

Smallpools is a Los Angeles-based indie band made up of singer Sean Scanlon, guitarist Mike Kamerman, and drummer Beau Kuther.

Smallpools’ music has a fun, party vibe without taking away from content and quality. Fast drums, catchy choruses with strong backing vocals, and creative lyrics come together to make music that will get you up off your feet and dancing.


Their first single, “Dreaming” is far and away their most popular song, but if you’re only listening to the chart-toppers, you are missing out on some excellent deeper tracks. Check out other winners like “American Love,” “Street Fight” and “Admission to Your Party.”

The band formed in LA in 2013 and quickly released their first single, “Dreaming” which reached #23 on Billboard’s Alternative Song chart, has continued to be a fan-favorite. They released a self-titled EP with RCA Records shortly after, and a full-length album, LOVETAP! in 2015.

It’s likely you’ve caught their track “Over and Over” from a popular Snapchat promo video, or their most recent single “Run With the Bulls.”

Keep an eye out for Smallpools’ new music, which apparently is coming soon. The band’s website frustratingly gives no concrete info on when music is coming, other than “New music Summer ’17,” so hopefully that means something soon. They’ve also got a tour scheduled for late summer/early fall, so if they are coming to your town, it’s a safe bet for a fun time.


[Photo credit]


Blink 182 STILL Putting Out New Music


While many pop-punk bands of the late 90’s and early 2000’s have come to their natural ends, Blink-182 is powering through, continuing to release new music as they celebrate their 25th anniversary as a band. This Friday (May 19, 2017) Blink-182 released the deluxe version of their newest album, California (released July 1, 2016).

The album, the first since the band’s break with original vocalist/guitarist Tom DeLonge and addition of former Alkaline Trio frontman Matt Skiba,  was already a lengthy one, with 16 tracks totaling just over 42 minutes on the standard version. The deluxe version features 11 additional original songs, as well as an acoustic recording of the single “Bored to Death.


The new tracks, including “Parking Lot,” “6/8,” and “Hey I’m Sorry,” have received mostly positive reviews, in keeping with the rest of the album. The sound is in keeping with the band’s early work, but seems to be nostalgically revisiting the tone, as opposed to clinging to something lost. Despite the change in the band’s line-up, the sound and feeling is largely unchanged.

The additions to the album also includes collaborations with RAS (Nicholas Furlong) on the track “Good Old Days” and with songwriter Simon Wilcox on the track “Bottom of the Ocean.”