Blink 182 STILL Putting Out New Music


While many pop-punk bands of the late 90’s and early 2000’s have come to their natural ends, Blink-182 is powering through, continuing to release new music as they celebrate their 25th anniversary as a band. This Friday (May 19, 2017) Blink-182 released the deluxe version of their newest album, California (released July 1, 2016).

The album, the first since the band’s break with original vocalist/guitarist Tom DeLonge and addition of former Alkaline Trio frontman Matt Skiba,  was already a lengthy one, with 16 tracks totaling just over 42 minutes on the standard version. The deluxe version features 11 additional original songs, as well as an acoustic recording of the single “Bored to Death.


The new tracks, including “Parking Lot,” “6/8,” and “Hey I’m Sorry,” have received mostly positive reviews, in keeping with the rest of the album. The sound is in keeping with the band’s early work, but seems to be nostalgically revisiting the tone, as opposed to clinging to something lost. Despite the change in the band’s line-up, the sound and feeling is largely unchanged.

The additions to the album also includes collaborations with RAS (Nicholas Furlong) on the track “Good Old Days” and with songwriter Simon Wilcox on the track “Bottom of the Ocean.”


Leave a Reply

Fill in your details below or click an icon to log in: Logo

You are commenting using your account. Log Out /  Change )

Google+ photo

You are commenting using your Google+ account. Log Out /  Change )

Twitter picture

You are commenting using your Twitter account. Log Out /  Change )

Facebook photo

You are commenting using your Facebook account. Log Out /  Change )


Connecting to %s